Klohn Crippen Berger Chairman, Ernest Portfors, Wins 2007 CEBC Meritorious Achievement Award

March 1, 2007

Annually, CEBC recognizes one individual's significant contributions to engineering, industry, and the community. The 2007 CEBC Meritorious Achievement Award winner is Dr. Ernest Portfors, P.Eng., a recipient of APEGBC's Meritorious Achievement Award in 2000.

Ernest is recognized around the world in his field of specialization: hydraulic engineering. As a Past President of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of BC (APEGBC) and a current Director of CEBC, he is admired by his peers in both the consulting industry and the engineering profession. This enables him to strengthen the link between CEBC and APEGBC.

His long list of accolades and accomplishments started in 1961 when he graduated from the University of Alberta with a B.Sc. in civil engineering and received the Governor General's Gold Medal for graduating with the highest marks in his class. He later graduated with an M.Sc. in engineering hydraulics and a PhD in mechanical engineering.

Ernest is Chairman of Klohn Crippen Berger Ltd. and was previously President & CEO of Klohn Crippen Consultants Ltd. from 1997 to 2005, where he has worked for almost 30 years.

The award was presented at the CEBC gala on March 3, held at the Vancouver Convention and Exhibition Centre.