Bob Chambers and Mary-Jane Piggott Win 2023 CIM Awards

May 1, 2023

Congratulations to Bob Chambers for being named a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum (CIM), and Mary-Jane Piggott on receiving the 2023 CIM Diversity and Inclusion Award.

Bob was awarded the designation for his outstanding and continuous contributions to the CIM and the mining industry.

Bob, KCB's Vice President, Technical, began volunteering with the CIM more than 30 years ago and has served at the local and national levels contributing to local chapter development and building national membership. In 2001, Bob received the CIM District 6 Distinguished Service Award.

Bob is a geotechnical engineer with more than 35 years of experience in mining and resource projects and management. Throughout his career, he has been a strong advocate for dam safety and sustainable tailings management. He has been involved in several other organizations including: Vancouver Geotechnical Society, Mining Association of Canada's Tailings Working Group, and Colorado School of Mines Industry Advisory Council.

In his leisure time, Bob combines his love of recreational sports with giving back to the community, having been a volunteer coach and executive member for several youth sport teams over many years.


Mary-Jane, Vice President of our Mining Environmental Group, was awarded for her contribution to gender equity in the workplace. Mary-Jane has guided policy changes that encourage female engineers and geoscientists to stay in the profession following parental leave. As chair of KCB's women's committee, Mary-Jane worked to educate a broader segment of our staff on issues that particularly impact women.

Mary-Jane recieived her award at the CIM Awards Gala on May 1 at the annual CIM Convention in Montreal, Quebec.

Mary-Jane is a senior water resources engineer and project manager with more than 20 years of experience throughout North and South America and Australia. In 2019, she received a Master of Business Administration degree from Simon Fraser University.